2016 Edie Whitsett Grant recipient:  Madeleine Winward

Madeleine Winward - Headshot

The 2016 winner of the Edie Whitsett Grant recipient is Madeleine Winward.  Madeleine recently graduated from Southern Oregon University with a BA in Theatre Arts.  Passionate about theatre for many years, she began working as a Prop Master early in her college career, working on such shows as CyranoThe White Fugue, and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  Upon graduation she served as a properties intern for Seattle Children’s Theatre’s Summer Season, where she was fortunate to work with S*P*A*M member Elizabeth Friedrich.  She is particularly passionate about children’s theatre, both in its creative possibility and ability to enrich lives.  In addition to Seattle Children’s she served as Prop Master at Village KIDSTAGE in Everett on Young Frankenstein and Seussical Jr.  She is very excited to join the team at Center Stage in Baltimore this fall, where she will be working under S*P*A*M member Meghan O’Brien.  She feels incredibly honored to have been chosen for the Edie Whitsett Grant.


2016 Jen Trieloff Grant recipient:  Jose Nunez


Jose Nunez (2)The 2016 Jen Trieloff Grant recipient is Jose Nunez.  Jose is preparing to enter his third year as a graduate student at Ohio University, where he is pursuing his MFA in Production Technology with an emphasis in Properties Design.  Jose graduated with his BA in Theatre from the University of Maryland in 2010. It was there that he first honed his propping skills under the tutelage of his mentor and SPAM member Timothy Jones, Properties Master at the Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center. He owes his addiction to propping to Timothy Jones.  Following graduation from the University of Maryland Jose freelanced in Washington DC and was the Properties Master at Imagination Stage in Bethesda, MD for two years, after which he entered graduate school at Ohio University. He now studies under Thomas Fiocchi.  This summer he is working as the Properties Artisan at Barrington Stage Company Pittsfield, Massachusetts.


Congratulations to the winners of the second annual SPAM Grants!